Friday, June 14, 2024
HomeEverything EcuadorEcuador Football, commonly known as "fútbol" in Ecuador, reigns as the undisputed...

Ecuador Football, commonly known as “fútbol” in Ecuador, reigns as the undisputed king of sports

Ecuador football league structure comprises a network of interlinked leagues catering to clubs across the country, and it is overseen at the national level by the Federación Ecuatoriana de Fútbol.

Ecuador Football League Structure:

The Ecuadorian football league system is structured into two main categories, with the premier category further divided into two series. At the pinnacle stands Primera Categoría, Serie A, often abbreviated as Primera A, comprising the nation’s top-tier teams. Directly beneath them is Primera Categoría, Serie B, referred to as Primera B. Teams in the Primera Categoria operate independently, separate from the 18 provincial organizations that constitute the Segunda Categoria. The Segunda Categoria represents the tier immediately below Primera Categoria and is notably the largest level within the league system, encompassing numerous teams. In this tier, clubs compete within their respective provincial associations to earn qualification for a larger national tournament.

Promotion and Relegation:

Upon the conclusion of tournaments at the end of the calendar year, teams face potential promotion or relegation to different tiers. The two lowest-performing teams in Primera A are relegated to Primera B. Conversely, the top two teams from Primera B secure promotion to Primera A, while the bottom two Primera B teams face relegation to Segunda. The top two Segunda teams are promoted to Primera B, thereby maintaining a dynamic system of promotion and relegation that ensures the league’s competitiveness and vitality.

Current system

1Liga PRO Ecuador Banco Pichincha (Serie A)
16 clubs
↓↑ 2 clubs
2Liga PRO Ecuador Banco Pichincha (Serie B)
10 clubs[
↓↑ 2 clubs
3Segunda Categoría
22 Champions and 42 Runners-up of regional leagues

Ecuadorian Serie A

Liga Pro Bet593, commonly referred to as Liga Pro or Serie A, stands as Ecuador’s foremost professional football league. Positioned at the summit of the Ecuadorian football league hierarchy, it represents the nation’s premier football competition. Comprising sixteen clubs, this league employs a promotion and relegation system with Serie B, which constitutes the lower tier within the Primera Categoría. The league season spans from February to December and typically unfolds across multiple stages.

Standing 2023

First Round

Ecuador Football

Second Round

ecuador football
Ecuador Football

Explore Must-Read Books About Ecuador – Click Here!

Titles by club

RankClubWinnersRunners-upWinning yearsRunners-up years
1Barcelona16131960, 1963, 1966, 1970, 1971, 1980, 1981, 1985, 1987, 1989, 1991, 1995, 1997, 2012, 2016, 20201957, 1962, 1968, 1982, 1986, 1990, 1992, 1993, 2002, 2003, 2005 Apertura, 2014, 2022
2Emelec14151957, 1961, 1965, 1972, 1979, 1988, 1993, 1994, 2001, 2002, 2013, 2014, 2015, 20171960, 1963, 1966, 1967, 1970, 1989, 1996, 1998, 2006, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2016, 2018, 2021
3El Nacional1371967, 1973, 1976, 1977, 1978, 1982, 1983, 1984, 1986, 1992, 1996, 2005 Clausura, 20061964, 1972, 1974, 1994, 1999, 2000, 2001
4LDU Quito1161969, 1974, 1975, 1990, 1998, 1999, 2003, 2005 Apertura, 2007, 2010, 20181977, 1981, 2008, 2015, 2019, 2020
5Deportivo Quito531964, 1968, 2008, 2009, 20111985, 1988, 1997
6Deportivo Cuenca1520041975, 1976, 2005 Clausura, 2007, 2009
Independiente del Valle1120212013

Ecuadorian Serie B

Serie B, also known as Primera Categoría Serie B or simply Primera B, stands as a professional football league in Ecuador. Positioned as the second tier within the Ecuadorian football league system, this league currently features ten competing clubs. It adheres to a promotion and relegation system, connecting with the top-tier Serie A and the lower-level Segunda Categoría. The season spans from February to December, structured into two distinct stages. Under sponsorship arrangements, it goes by the name LigaPro Banco Pichincha Pymes.

Ecuador Football

Manabí, Ecuador CoCo Bongo Hostel’s Home Teams

In the province of Manabí, Ecuador, where CoCo Bongo Hostel is situated, two notable football teams participate in and out of the Serie A (Primera Categoría). Delfín S.C., hailing from Manta, has clinched the Primera Categoría title on one occasion. Meanwhile, Liga Deportiva Universitaria de Portoviejo, representing the city of Portoviejo, is another prominent team in the region. These two teams share a heated rivalry, competing in what is known as El Clásico Manabita. This intense and historic matchup between Delfín S.C. and Liga Deportiva Universitaria de Portoviejo adds excitement and passion to the football scene in Manabí province.

The Astillero Classic – #bucketlistEcuador

Ecuador Football

The Astillero Classic stands as Ecuador’s most significant and time-honored football rivalry, pitting Barcelona against Emelec. Both teams hail from Guayaquil, the nation’s largest and most populous city, boasting approximately 2.3 million residents in the city itself and nearly 3.1 million in the metropolitan area. Guayaquil also serves as Ecuador’s primary port. This fierce derby is affectionately known as “El partido inmortal del fútbol Ecuatoriano” (English: The immortal Ecuadorian football match) due to its enduring legacy and cultural significance in Ecuador’s football history.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Most Popular

Recent Comments

Translate »


× How can I help you?